skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From W. D. Fox   13 July [1872]1

Broadlands | Sandown

July 13

My dear Darwin

I have thirsted very much to see you again for some time past, and quite hoped to have been able to offer myself for a day, if you could have me next week. But our plans are now altered and we d⁠⟨⁠o⁠⟩⁠ not go thro London⁠⟨⁠.⁠⟩⁠ I supposed we should ⁠⟨⁠on⁠⟩⁠ our way to Cheshire. What an age it is since we have met.2 I should be so glad if you can find ten minutes spare time, in which to tell me about yourself and Mrs Darwin and your family. Are you a Grandfather yet?

We have much enjoyed ⁠⟨⁠ou⁠⟩⁠r stay here since last November, tho’ owing to my lingering too long in the North, I got a nip in the Lu⁠⟨⁠ngs⁠⟩⁠ which invalided me for some months.3

Now I wish we could induce you and Mrs Darwin to come and inhale our air here, when we return in the early Autumn. We have let our house here from next Tuesday for six weeks—and when that is over, we hope to return here.

Do write me a few lines

to Delamere Rectory



Mrs Fox4 unites with me in kindest regards to Mrs Darwin (if not forgotten by her) & Believe me | Always yours affecly | W. Darwin Fox

Tell me how Mrs Wedgewood5 is & remember me to her.

CD annotations

Verso of last page: ‘Etty | p. 17 | Omit’6pencil, del pencil


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to W. D. Fox, 16 July [1872].
The last time CD and Fox met was in London on 13 February 1863 (see Correspondence vol. 11, letter to W. D. Fox, 9 March [1863] and n. 3).
From 1870, Fox and his family spent winters at Broadlands on the Isle of Wight and the remainder of the year at Delamere Rectory in Cheshire (see Correspondence vol. 18, letter from W. D. Fox, 28 October [1870]); in 1872 they evidently extended their stay on the Isle of Wight due to Fox’s ill health.
Ellen Sophia Fox, Fox’s wife.
Caroline Sarah Wedgwood, CD’s sister.
CD’s annotations do not directly relate to his reply to Fox (see letter to W. D. Fox, 16 July 1872), and are probably notes made in connection with Henrietta Emma Litchfield’s reading of proofs of Expression (see letter to H. E. Litchfield, 25 July 1872).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Expression: The expression of the emotions in man and animals. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1872.


Will not pass through London, so will not be able to call at Down.

Letter details

Letter no.
William Darwin Fox
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 164: 195
Physical description
ALS 3pp damaged †

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8408,” accessed on 29 May 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 20