skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   [18 July 1868]1

Dumbola2 Lodge | Freshwater. | I. of Wight

Saturday 17th

My dear Hooker

Even two days from home have done my head so much good that I shall be up any time for a moderate amount of talk, & shall much enjoy seeing you & hearing about your Address.—3

It will not signify to you, but we are much disappointed in this place, which strikes us as very far from beautiful, & our House proves much too small.— But I daresay things will improve, & if I can keep better it will answer for me.—

You must come by S.W Railway to Lymington & cross to Yarmouth4 & Coach thence passes our door.—

Yours affect. | C. Darwin


The date is established by the endorsement and by the fact that the first Saturday that the Darwins spent at Freshwater was 18 July 1868 (see n. 3, below).
The name of the lodge was in fact ‘Dimbola’ (ODNB s.v. Cameron, Julia Margaret).
According to Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR 242), the Darwins went to London on Thursday 16 July and arrived in Freshwater on Friday 17 July; this letter was presumably written on Saturday 18 July, and CD’s date is in error. See also letter from J. D. Hooker, 12 July [1868] and n. 3.
Lymington in Hampshire is a coastal town from which the crossing to Yarmouth on the north-west coast of the Isle of Wight could be made.


ODNB: Oxford dictionary of national biography: from the earliest times to the year 2000. (Revised edition.) Edited by H. C. G. Matthew and Brian Harrison. 60 vols. and index. Oxford: Oxford University Press. 2004.


Looks forward to seeing JDH and hearing about address.

Feels better already.

Disappointed in house [they have taken at Freshwater].

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 94: 78–9
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6279,” accessed on 23 June 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 16