skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   24 June [1868]1

Down. | Bromley. | Kent. S.E.

June 24th

My dear Hooker

Thanks for name of grass.—2

I write one line to say how very very glad we all are that you will run down here; but I write also to say that we have this day fixed to go to Isle of Wight rather earlier than we had intended, viz on 17th of July;3 but you must not let that stop you coming here.— Thanks about my Frank: it would be “jolly” as he declared to go, but he has not time, as he means to read this Long vacation at Cambridge.—4

The state of affairs about your address sounds awesome5

Ever yours | C. Darwin

I suppose that you have heard that Mr Rodney, Sir J. Lubbocks Brother-in-law, is just dead.—6

Have you had time to read Bentham’s address: of course I am quite delighted with it— all the critics in the world may no[w] go the Devil for what I care what they say about my book— But independently of self the address seems very good indeed.—7


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from J. D. Hooker, 22 June 1868.
The Darwins left Down on 16 July 1868 for London, and arrived at Freshwater on the Isle of Wight on 17 July, arriving back at Down on 21 August (Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR 242)).
Francis Darwin was an undergraduate at Trinity College, Cambridge; see letter from J. D. Hooker, 22 June 1868 and n. 5. ‘Long vacation’: i.e. summer vacation.
CD refers to George Bentham and his anniversary address to the Linnean Society (see letter to George Bentham, 23 June 1868).


Thanks for name of grass.

Plans to go to Isle of Wight on 17 July.

Frank cannot come to Kew, as he will be reading this long vacation at Cambridge.

Delighted with Bentham’s Presidential Address [Linnean Society, 1868].

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 94: 74–5
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6259,” accessed on 19 May 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 16