skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To W. B. Tegetmeier   [5–9 March 1868]1

6. Queen Anne St | W

My dear Sir

It is so long since we met that I am anxious some day soon to have the pleasure of seeing you. On Wednesday we move to “4 Chester Place, Regents’ Park” where we stay for about three weeks.2 Now would not this be nearly in your line of march from Fortis Green to the City & could you call on me & let me hear when that I may be at home.3 If you go in the middle of the day would you come & lunch with us at one o clock.— I am so tired in the evenings that I am afraid of asking anyone to my house.—

My dear Sir | Yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin


The date range is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from W. B. Tegetmeier, 9 March 1868, and by the reference to moving on Wednesday (see below, n. 2).
CD arrived in London on Tuesday, 3 March 1868, and stayed with his brother, Erasmus Alvey Darwin; then moved to the house of Sarah Elizabeth Wedgwood on Wednesday 11 March, returning home on 1 April 1868 (Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR 242)).
Tegetmeier’s home address was Fortis Green, Finchley (see letter from W. B. Tegetmeier, 9 March 1868). The offices of the Field were at 346 Strand, London (Post Office London directory 1868).


Post Office London directory: Post-Office annual directory. … A list of the principal merchants, traders of eminence, &c. in the cities of London and Westminster, the borough of Southwark, and parts adjacent … general and special information relating to the Post Office. Post Office London directory. London: His Majesty’s Postmaster-General [and others]. 1802–1967.


Would like to meet with WBT while in London.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Sent from
London, Queen Anne St, 6
Source of text
Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5991,” accessed on 4 March 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 16