skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To E. Schweizerbart’sche Verlagsbuchhandlung   22 November [1867]1

Down. | Bromley. | Kent. S.E.

Nov. 22

Dear Sir

As you have the right of translation of my present & previous works without payment I do not hesitate to ask you to let me have nine copies of the present translation as by the enclosed list.2

When the 1st vol is ready (and of course the 2nd vol likewise) will you be so good as to despatch the volumes according to the addresses given in the enclosed paper, & be so kind as to paste in “From the author” (as enclosed) in each copy excepting that for myself

Believe me dear Sir | yours faithfully | Charles Darwin


to myself, Down, Bromley Kent3

(2) Prof. Rütimeyer,4 Bâle, Switzerland

(3) Prof. Oswald Heer, Zurich, do.

(4) Dr. Hildebrand5 Bonn

(5) Prof. Caspary Kœnigsburg6 Prussia

(6) Prof. Ernst Häckel7 Jena Saxe Weimar

(7) Dr. Rolle, Homburg vor der Hoehe, Frankfurt am Main8

(8) Prof. Oscar Schmidt,9 Hochschule Graz

(9.)Hermann von Nathusius of Hundisburg, to care of Wigandt und Hempel of Berlin10

Charles Darwin


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from Eduard Koch, 11 December 1867.
E. Schweizerbart’sche Verlagsbuchhandlung had published German translations of Orchids and the first three editions of Origin (Bronn trans. 1860, 1862, 1863, and Bronn and Carus trans. 1867). See also Correspondence vols. 8, 10, and 14. CD had renounced his right to profit from the German translation of Origin (Correspondence vol. 8, letter to H. G. Bronn, 4 February [1860] and n. 6). See also letter to E. Schweizerbart’sche Verlagsbuchhandlung, [19 March 1867].
CD’s copy of the German translation of Variation (Carus trans. 1868) is in the Darwin Library–Down.
Robert Caspary of Königsberg.
Friedrich Rolle of Bad Homburg near Frankfurt am Main.
CD refers to Hermann Engelhard von Nathusius and to the firm of Wiegandt und Hempel, Nathusius’s publisher.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Orchids: On the various contrivances by which British and foreign orchids are fertilised by insects, and on the good effects of intercrossing. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1862.

Origin: On the origin of species by means of natural selection, or the preservation of favoured races in the struggle for life. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1859.

Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Encloses list of people to whom he would like presentation copies of the German edition of Variation sent.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
E. Schweizerbart’sche Verlagsbuchhandlung
Sent from
Source of text
Württembergische Landesbibliothek, Stuttgart (Cod. hist. 4o 333a. No 77, 1)
Physical description
LS(A) 2pp, encl 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5694,” accessed on 27 February 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 15