skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Frances Harriet Hooker   [27 January 1865]1

My dear Mr. Darwin—

I am sorry to say that Joseph must give up his visit to you tomorrow— instead of being better, as he wrote you word yesterday,2 he is worse, & seems to have a regular attack of influenza, so that he certainly cannot leave home tomorrow—

He bids me say how sorry he is—especially as he had hoped to have seen your boys at home for the holidays—3

With kind regards to Mrs. Darwin,4 believe me | yours afftly. F H Hooker

Kew— W—


We have just heard that Dr. Falconer is very ill—with rheumatic fever & bronchitis—5 They are very anxious about him—


The date is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from J. D. Hooker, [26 January 1865], and by the reference to Hugh Falconer’s illness (see n. 5, below).
Following an attack of ‘acute rheumatism, with disease of the heart and lungs’, Falconer died on 31 January 1865 (DNB).


DNB: Dictionary of national biography. Edited by Leslie Stephen and Sidney Lee. 63 vols. and 2 supplements (6 vols.). London: Smith, Elder & Co. 1885–1912. Dictionary of national biography 1912–90. Edited by H. W. C. Davis et al. 9 vols. London: Oxford University Press. 1927–96.


J. D. Hooker will not be able to visit CD because of ill health.

Letter details

Letter no.
Frances Harriet Henslow/Frances Harriet Hooker
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 104: 231–2
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 4879,” accessed on 18 April 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 13