skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From John Lubbock   17 April 1862

Lamas, Chiselhurst. S.E.

17 April 62

My dear Mr. Darwin

I wish the world had been so arranged that one could be in two places at once. We might I am sure enjoy ourselves more; now I am off today with Prestwich & Evans on a little geological excursion, & cannot therefore come to you though I should have enjoyed it so much.1 Nelly is very glad that you approve of her review.2

Hoping that Horace is better & that you yourself are well,3 I remain | Yours affecly | John Lubbock


In a letter that has not been found, CD had invited Lubbock to visit him at Down House on 19 or 20 April (see letter to H. W. Bates, 16 April [1862]). Between 17 and 28 April 1862, John Lubbock travelled with Joseph Prestwich and John Evans to Amiens and Abbeville in France to examine the Somme Valley sites at which flint implements considered to be of great antiquity had been discovered (Lubbock 1862c, p. 248, and Prestwich 1899, p. 170).
Ellen Frances Lubbock; the reference has not been identified.
Horace Darwin, CD’s youngest child, had been ill since the beginning of the year.


Prestwich, Grace Anne, ed. 1899. Life and letters of Sir Joseph Prestwich. Edinburgh and London: William Blackwood.


JL is going on a geological excursion with Joseph Prestwich and John Evans.

Letter details

Letter no.
John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Lamas, Chislehurst
Source of text
DAR 170.1: 29
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 3510,” accessed on 27 May 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 10