skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To John Murray   23 [January 1860]1

Down Bromley Kent


My dear Sir

As you consented to M. Belloc’s wish to translate my Book,2 I concluded that I need not trouble you before agreeing (after making careful enquiry with most satisfactory results) to permit “M. Talandier, Professor of French    Royal Military College, Sandhurst” to translate my Book.—

Please send him copy of 2d Edit. by post to above address.

I hope I have not acted wrongly in agreeing without consulting you; but I did so merely to save you trouble.—   I shall see you, I hope, on Wednesday or Thursday3

My dear Sir | Yours very sincerely | Charles Darwin


Dated by the reference to CD’s trip to London (see n. 3, below).
CD went to London on 24 January 1860 and returned to Down on 27 January (Emma Darwin’s diary). See also following letter.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Origin: On the origin of species by means of natural selection, or the preservation of favoured races in the struggle for life. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1859.


Has agreed to permit P. T. A. Talandier to translate the Origin.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
John Murray
Sent from
Source of text
National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms.42152 ff.62–63)
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 2664,” accessed on 23 June 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 8