skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   28 [July 1855]1



My dear Hooker

Henslow dines with me at 57 Queen Anne St. on Tuesday Aug 7th at 7 oclock. Could you not, with this notice, contrive a day’s work in London, & so dine with us? It would be very pleasant.—

I have just received your most magnificent illustrated work,2 & most splendid it is. I am very full of you at present for I am in the middle of the Indian Flora & of course greatly interested with it. I had a letter the other day from Bunbury full of praise of the same.—3 Adios.

Do come on 7th if you can find anything else to do in London.—

I hope Mrs. Hooker is going on well: pray give her our very sincere congratulations & very kind remembrances

once again adios | C. D.


Dated on the basis of CD’s intention to visit London on 7 and 8 August 1855 (see letter to J. S. Henslow, 23 [July 1855]).
J. D. Hooker 1855.
The letter has not been found, but F. J. Bunbury ed. 1891–3, Middle life 2: 363 records that Charles James Fox Bunbury was ‘exceedingly pleased with Hooker’s “Flora Indica”.’


Praise for JDH’s Flora Indica [J. D. Hooker and T. Thomson (1855)] from CD and C. J. F. Bunbury.

CD and J. S. Henslow dining in London. JDH invited.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 114: 143a
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1731,” accessed on 5 March 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 5