skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To R. F. Cooke   30 June [1877]1

Bassett, Southampton

June 30th

My dear Sir

Many thanks for your note.2 I return home early on Wednesday 4th, so that my (cut) copies must be sent to Orpington Stn.—3

I have not yet heard from Mess Appleton whether they wish to bring out an edition of my present book; so that unless you have heard or had some communication with their agent, I think no more stereotype plates had better be made. Of course if they do not wish for an edition, I will pay for the plates already made.— I asked Mess Appleton to telegraph to me, & time has, I think, fully elapsed for an answer.—4

Many thanks for your uniform wish to oblige me in every way, I remain | My dear Sir | Yours sincerely | Ch. Darwin

P.S I have not heard how many copies you think best to print off.—


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from R. F. Cooke, 29 June 1877.
CD was at William Erasmus Darwin’s house in Bassett, Southampton, from 13 June to 4 July 1877 (CD’s ‘Journal’ (Appendix II)). He was expecting his presentation copies of Forms of flowers. CD strongly objected to the common practice of selling books with the pages uncut (see Correspondence vol. 15, letter to Athenæum, 1 January 1867).
Charles Layton was the London agent for D. Appleton & Co. No correspondence between CD and Appleton about the US edition of Forms of flowers has been found; see, however, the letter from R. F. Cooke, 2 July 1877.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Forms of flowers: The different forms of flowers on plants of the same species. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1877.


Has not heard from Appleton about an American edition [of Forms of flowers]. Asks how many copies Murray is printing.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Robert Francis Cooke; John Murray
Sent from
Source of text
National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms. 42152 ff. 302–3)
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 11024,” accessed on 23 May 2024,