skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From R. F. Cooke   19 March 1877

50A, Albemarle Street, London. W.

March 19 1877

My dear Sir

I return the enclosed a/c receipted.

You acknowledge the receipt of £280.0.0, but we only sent £260.

I note what you say about your new work, but of course we will not announce it, until you tell us.1

Yours faithfully | Robt. Cooke

C. Darwin Esq


The letter from CD has not been found, but see the letter from R. F. Cooke, 16 March 1877. Cooke had sent two cheques totalling £260 for profits from sales of Cross and self fertilisation and Origin (1876). CD did not send the manuscript for Forms of flowers until April 1877 (letter to R. F. Cooke, 11 April 1877) and it was published on 9 July 1877 (Freeman 1977).


Cross and self fertilisation: The effects of cross and self fertilisation in the vegetable kingdom. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1876.

Forms of flowers: The different forms of flowers on plants of the same species. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1877.

Freeman, Richard Broke. 1977. The works of Charles Darwin: an annotated bibliographical handlist. 2d edition. Folkestone, Kent: William Dawson & Sons. Hamden, Conn.: Archon Books, Shoe String Press.

Origin (1876): The origin of species by means of natural selection, or the preservation of favoured races in the struggle for life. 6th edition, with additions and corrections to 1872. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1876.


Murray’s will not announce CD’s new work [Forms of flowers] until informed to do so.

Letter details

Letter no.
Robert Francis Cooke; John Murray
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Albemarle St, 50a
Source of text
DAR 171: 486
Physical description
ALS 1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10903,” accessed on 17 April 2024,