skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From R. F. Cooke   5 October 1875

50A, Albemarle Street, London, W.

Octr. 5 1875

My dear Sir

We have now retd. from our holidays & are busy with the arrangements for our Trade Sale.1

I hope the printer has been satisfying you with his progress on the “Animals & Plants”.2

I see “Climbing Plants” is complete.3

The enclosed letter has come during my absence. Sigr Canestrini is the gentleman, who never paid us, on a former occasion.4

Yours faithfully | Robt. Cooke

Chas. Darwin Esq


John Murray held an annual sale dinner in November at which the principal booksellers were allowed to purchase stock on favourable terms (see J. Murray 1908–9, p. 540).
William Clowes & Sons were printing Variation 2d ed., which was published in February 1876 (Publishers’ circular, 1 March 1876, p. 168), although it carried an 1875 publication date.
Climbing plants 2d ed. was published in November 1875 (Publishers’ circular, 16 November 1875, p. 932).
The enclosure has not been found, but Giovanni Canestrini’s publisher, Carlo Vincenzi, had not paid for electrotypes of the illustrations for the first edition of Variation and the translation had remained unpublished (see Correspondence vol. 18, letter from Giovanni Canestrini, 21 April 1870). Canestrini had a new publisher for his translation of the second edition (Canestrini trans. 1876), Unione Tipografico-Editrice of Turin.


Climbing plants 2d ed.: The movements and habits of climbing plants. 2d edition. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1875.

Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Murray, John. 1908–9. Darwin and his publisher. Science Progress in the Twentieth Century 3: 537–42.

Variation 2d ed.: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2d edition. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1875.

Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Hopes printing of Variation [2d ed.] is going satisfactorily.

Climbing plants [2d ed.] is finished.

Letter details

Letter no.
Robert Francis Cooke; John Murray
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Albemarle St, 50a
Source of text
DAR 171: 470
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10183,” accessed on 19 April 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 23