skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
letter in document-type disabled_by_default
1839 in date disabled_by_default
95 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5  Next

To ?   [1839–82]


Is glad addressee’s lectures are going well.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  [1839–82]
Classmark:  Raptis Rare Books (dealers) (June 2018 item 69022)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13925F

Letter of recommendation for Syms Covington   29 May 1839


A letter of reference for Syms Covington.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  29 May 1839
Classmark:  Mitchell Library, Sydney (MLMSS 2009/108: 6)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-514

From [Mr Edwards?]   [before end of 1839?]


Reports on a setter puppy born of apparently pure pointer parents. Any cross must have been far back.

Author:  [–] Edwards
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before end of 1839?]
Classmark:  DAR 163: 4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13803

To Richard Owen   [1839 – April 1840]


Delighted by RO’s discussion in this sheet. RO should return revises to printer and get remaining ones.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Richard Owen
Date:  [1839 – Apr 1840]
Classmark:  Charles Hamilton (dealer) (13 June 1974)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-397

To Woodbine Parish   [January 1839?]


Likes WP’s book [Buenos Ayres and the province of La Plata (1838)]. Thinks it will interest all "who care for graver things than what the traveller eats and says to the Señoritas".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Woodbine Parish
Date:  [Jan 1839?]
Classmark:  Shuttleworth 1910, p. 412 n.
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-398

To Charles Babbage   [February 1839 – August 1842]


Asks permission to bring Fanny Allen to CB’s party.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Babbage
Date:  [Feb 1839 – Aug 1842]
Classmark:  The British Library (Add MS 37191: 298)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-470

From Susan Darwin   [c. 24 October 1839]


Gives some information on Darwin family history.

Author:  Susan Elizabeth Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [c. 24 Oct 1839]
Classmark:  DAR 261.11: 25 (on display at Down House in 1991)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-472

To John Phillips   [18 March 1839]


Will send JP a map as requested. Asks for a ticket to one of JP’s lectures.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Phillips
Date:  [18 Mar 1839]
Classmark:  Oxford University Museum of Natural History Archive Collections (John Phillips collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-473

To Charles Babbage   [October 1839 – August 1842]


Regrets he cannot accept invitation. "My health will not at present stand going out in the evenings."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Babbage
Date:  [Oct 1839 – Aug 1842]
Classmark:  The British Library (Add MS 37191: 296)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-474

From G. R. Waterhouse   [1839 – 10 February 1840]



Sends John Blackwall’s book [Researches in zoology (1834)]. Discusses his reasons for doubting that there are any marsupials in Java or Sumatra.

Author:  George Robert Waterhouse
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1839 – 10 Feb 1840]
Classmark:  DAR 205.3: 295
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-475

To Charles Babbage   [1839 – August 1842]


Is so unwell today that he is unable to come [to CB’s party].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Babbage
Date:  [1839 – Aug 1842]
Classmark:  The British Library (Add 37191: 297)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-476

To John Maurice Herbert   [January 1839 – September 1842]


Suggests the names of two bird-preservers for JMH’s friend.

In reference to an earlier letter, replies: "As for Birds of Paradise from the West Indies, tell that to the marines, as we used to say on board the Beagle".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Maurice Herbert
Date:  [Jan 1839 – Sept 1842]
Classmark:  Bonhams, New York (dealers) (11 December 2013)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-476A

To Charles Stokes   [1839 – September 1842]


Sends observations he made on Fungia during Beagle voyage. Asks CS to make corrections in style or names of parts as he sees fit.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Stokes
Date:  [1839 – Sept 1842]
Classmark:  Wellcome Collection
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-478

To Charles Babbage   19 [February 1839 – August 1842]


Asks to be allowed to bring his sister to CB’s party "that she may see the World".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Babbage
Date:  19 [Feb 1839 - Aug 1842]
Classmark:  The British Library (Add MS 37191: 299)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-479

To Charles Lyell   [c. 9 January 1839]


Discusses his Glen Roy paper [(1839), Collected papers 1: 87–137], which he is sending to CL.

Remarks on Charles MacLaren’s treatment of alluvium. Comments on alluvial action in Lochaber.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  [c. 9 Jan 1839]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.15)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-480

To William Whewell   4 [January 1839]


Informs him of J. B. Jukes’s plans concerning the Newfoundland survey post.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Whewell
Date:  4 [Jan 1839]
Classmark:  Trinity College Library, Cambridge (Add c 88: 5)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-483

From J. M. Herbert   13 January [1839]


Sends congratulations on CD’s engagement, with a gift.

Author:  John Maurice Herbert
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 Jan [1839]
Classmark:  DAR 204: 168
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-487

To W. J. Broderip   19 January [1839]


Hopes Richard Owen will have time to do CD’s shells in spirits.

Doubts WJB’s suggestion that moles may play a part in formation of mould.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William John Broderip
Date:  19 Jan [1839]
Classmark:  Houghton Library, Harvard University (Autograph File, D)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-488

To Edwin C. Prince   21 January [1839]


Asks what generic and subgeneric name John Gould has given to the goatsuckers of the U. S. [for Birds].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edwin Charles Prince
Date:  21 Jan [1839]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-491

From Thomas Evans Blackwell   26 January 1839


A newly-elected Fellow returns the obligation to be signed upon entering the Geological Society.

Author:  Thomas Evans Blackwell
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  26 Jan 1839
Classmark:  Geological Society of London (GSL/L/R/4/121)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-494
Page: 1 2 3 4 5  Next