skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
1859 in date disabled_by_default
239 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

CD memorandum   24 April 1859



Questions about stripes on mules.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  24 Apr 1859
Classmark:  DAR 206 (Letters)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2454

To ?   [after 2 November 1859]


Origin will be published 22 Nov. Fears correspondent will find the conclusions "abominable".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  [after 2 Nov 1859]
Classmark:  Michael S. Hollander (dealer) (Catalogue 15)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2541

To Charles Lovegrove   14 December [1859–71]


Acknowledges contribution to Down Coal and Clothing Club.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lovegrove
Date:  14 Dec [1859-71]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13822

From William Charles Linnaeus Martin   [1859–61]


MS of a paper called "Comments on Mr Darwin’s grand theory", which generally supports CD but proposes that present flightless birds are primitive. Paper supplemented by a diagram showing the phylogeny of birds.

Author:  William Charles Linnaeus Martin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1859–61]
Classmark:  DAR 171: 56/1–15
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13827

To Matthias Mull   [after 24 November 1859]


Thanks MM for reference to Shakespeare’s eleventh sonnet.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Mathias Mull
Date:  [after 24 Nov 1859]
Classmark:  DAR 146: 424a
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13829

From Hensleigh Wedgwood   [13–19 March 1859]



HW has confirmed the report in the Times of a shower of fish (minnows and sticklebacks) that fell on the Wedgwood colliery.

Author:  Hensleigh Wedgwood
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [13–19 Mar 1859]
Classmark:  DAR 205.2: 262
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13854

To John William Lubbock   2 April [1859]


Comments on water rising in their wells.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John William Lubbock, 3d baronet
Date:  2 Apr [1859]
Classmark:  The Royal Society (LUB: D25)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1846

To John Innes   4 March [1859]


Much concerned by death of JBI’s mother.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Brodie Innes
Date:  4 Mar [1859]
Classmark:  Cleveland Health Sciences Library (Robert M. Stecher collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2232

To A. C. Ramsay   24 June [1859]


Comments on ACR’s "The old glaciers [of Switzerland and N. Wales", in Peaks, passes, and glaciers: a series of excursions by members of the Alpine Club, ed. J. Ball (1859)]. Discusses erratic blocks in the Jura. Notes views of Lyell.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Andrew Crombie Ramsay
Date:  24 June [1859]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine Archives (Ramsay 306: 4)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2291

From A. C. Ramsay   6 January 1859



Responds to CD’s queries concerning faults; is sending sections of the kind he wants. The Merionethshire fault with a downthrow of 12000ft. [See Origin, p. 285.]

Author:  Andrew Crombie Ramsay
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Jan 1859
Classmark:  DAR 205.9: 399
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2398

From Richard Hill   10 January 1859


Will secure information on indigenous and naturalised bees as CD requests.

Believes Mexican and Jamaican Melipona are different.

Author:  Richard Hill
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 Jan 1859
Classmark:  DAR 166: 218
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2399

To Syms Covington   16 January 1859


Regrets SC’s increasing deafness, but advises that aurists are humbugs.

Tells of illnesses in family and his own poor health. "I never know 24 hours comfort."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Syms Covington
Date:  16 Jan 1859
Classmark:  Brian Sirl (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2400

To J. D. Hooker   20 January [1859]



At work on abstract.

Continues argument on effectiveness of dispersal. Has doubts about relationship of isolation to highness of Australian flora. Questions about survival of European plants introduced in Australia.

CD receives the Wollaston Medal of the Geological Society.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  20 Jan [1859]
Classmark:  DAR 115: 2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2401

To John Phillips   21 January [1859]


Acknowledges the honour that the Council [of the Geological Society] have conferred upon him [award of Wollaston Medal]. Will attend the anniversary meeting if his health permits, but cannot attend the dinner.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Phillips
Date:  21 Jan [1859]
Classmark:  Oxford University Museum of Natural History (Geological collections)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2402

To J. D. Hooker   23 January [1859]



Wallace has written and is well satisfied with the joint presentation.

CD requests some facts to make case in his abstract for former glacial action in Himalayas.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  23 Jan [1859]
Classmark:  DAR 115: 3
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2403

From J. D. Hooker   25 January 1859



Relieved by Wallace’s letter.

At work on introductory essay to Flora Tasmaniae.

European plants naturalised in Australia are almost all adapted to invading disturbed ground.

JDH supports Asa Gray against Alphonse de Candolle as foreign member of Royal Society.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  25 Jan 1859
Classmark:  DAR 100: 131–2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2404

To A. R. Wallace   25 January [1859]


Expresses pleasure and relief at ARW’s response to joint publication of their pieces about natural selection.

Plans for the "abstract" [Origin].

Birds’ nests as evidence of variation of instincts.

Their collection of bees’ combs.

Praises ARW’s article.

Lyell’s and Hooker’s views [of species issue].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Date:  25 Jan [1859]
Classmark:  The British Library (Add MS 46434)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2405

To J. D. Hooker   28 January [1859]



CD not convinced that naturalisation of European plants abroad is strictly dependent on creation by agriculture of disturbed ground.

More than half through his chapter on geographical distribution.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  28 Jan [1859]
Classmark:  DAR 115: 4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2406

To W. B. Tegetmeier   4 February [1859]


Wants white breeds of poultry.

Poor health necessitates a trip to Moor Park, Farnham.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Date:  4 Feb [1859]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2407

To John Lubbock   [6 February 1859]


JL’s brother’s accident.

Thinks JL should tackle systematics of anomalous insects from studies of internal organs.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Date:  [6 Feb 1859]
Classmark:  DAR 263: 26 (EH 88206475)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2408
Document type
letter (239)
01 (12)
02 (11)
03 (22)
04 (17)
05 (11)
06 (11)
07 (10)
08 (7)
09 (12)
10 (21)
11 (53)
12 (52)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next