skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From T. H. Huxley   [4 April 1875]1

4 Marlborough Place | N.W

Sunday aft.

My dear Darwin

I set to work immediately after you left this morning & excogitated the following— If you & Paget & Sanderson would deal with it as you think fit—it strikes me it might form a basis for a petition such as we talked about2

Ever | Yours faithfully | T H Huxley

Footnotes

The date is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to J. S. Burdon Sanderson, [11 April 1875]. CD was in London from 31 March to 12 April 1875 (CD’s ‘Journal’ (Appendix II)). There were two Sundays during this period, 4 and 11 April. However, in his letter to Burdon Sanderson of [11 April 1875], CD does not mention having seen Huxley that morning.
CD had asked Huxley to consult physiologists in London about presenting a petition to regulate vivisection to the House of Commons (see letter to T. H. Huxley, 14 January 1875). Huxley’s enclosure has not been found; however, a copy of the draft petition is in DAR 139.17: 19 (see Appendix VI). Huxley refers to James Paget and John Scott Burdon Sanderson.

Summary

Sends his thoughts on [vivisection] petition. Thinks they might make petition more talked about. Leaves it to J. Paget, Burdon Sanderson, and CD to deal with.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-9875
From
Thomas Henry Huxley
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Marlborough Place, 4
Source of text
DAR 166: 337
Physical description
2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9875,” accessed on 28 February 2020, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-9875.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 23

letter