skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Nevil Maskelyne to John Lubbock   3 December [1871]1

112 Gloucester Terrace | Hyde Park W

Decr. 3.

My dear Lubbock

The memoirs I spoke to you about of Mr. Darwin’s that my Wife2 is anxious to obtain for her botanical studies are

On the dimorphism of Linum

On climbing plants and

A supplement to the ‘Fertilisation of Orchids’; of this last she possesses the volume to which it is supplemental but has not the supplement.3

If you can obtain these or any of them for my wife you will be doing her a considerable kindness; and I am sure if Mr. Darwin was acquainted with her and knew with what interest she has followed his work and his developement of the botanical questions discussed in these papers he would gladly give her the copies if he has them to spare.

Believe me to be | Ever your’s very truly | Nevil S Maskelyne.


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from Nevil Maskelyne, 8 December 1871.
Thereza Mary Dillwyn Maskelyne.


‘Climbing plants’: On the movements and habits of climbing plants. By Charles Darwin. [Read 2 February 1865.] Journal of the Linnean Society (Botany) 9 (1867): 1–118.

‘Fertilization of orchids’: Notes on the fertilization of orchids. By Charles Darwin. Annals and Magazine of Natural History 4th ser. 4 (1869): 141–59. [Collected papers 2: 138–56.]

Orchids: On the various contrivances by which British and foreign orchids are fertilised by insects, and on the good effects of intercrossing. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1862.

‘Two forms in species of Linum’: On the existence of two forms, and on their reciprocal sexual relation, in several species of the genus Linum. By Charles Darwin. [Read 5 February 1863.] Journal of the Proceedings of the Linnean Society (Botany) 7 (1864): 69–83. [Collected papers 2: 93–105.]


Asks JL to obtain copies of CD’s botanical works for his wife.

Letter details

Letter no.
Mervyn Herbert Nevil (Nevil) Story/Mervyn Herbert Nevil (Nevil) Story-Maskelyne
John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Sent from
London, Hyde Park
Source of text
DAR 177: 260
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8091,” accessed on 21 June 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 19