skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Osbert Salvin   21 September 1871

32, Grove, Boltons. S.W.

21 Sept. 1871

My dear Mr Darwin,

I must apologize to you for not answering your questions about Ducks sooner.1 I have been from home & did not like to write from memory. I now find that I have not a specimen of the common Duck by me but shall have one today.2 I shall then be able to go into the question & will forward you my observations not later than early next week.

Very truly yours | Osbert Salvin.

I lately met an old ‘Beagle’ officer, Capt Mellersh, who is now living close to my Father in Sussex.3

Footnotes

Arthur Mellersh served with CD on the Beagle (see Correspondence vol. 1). Salvin’s father, Anthony Salvin, lived at Fernhurst in Sussex, where Mellersh also lived following his retirement from the navy (Correspondence vol. 20, letter from Arthur Mellersh, 25 January 1872; ODNB s.v. Salvin, Anthony).

Bibliography

Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

ODNB: Oxford dictionary of national biography: from the earliest times to the year 2000. (Revised edition.) Edited by H. C. G. Matthew and Brian Harrison. 60 vols. and index. Oxford: Oxford University Press. 2004.

Summary

Promises to answer questions about ducks next week when he has a specimen.

Recently met Capt. Arthur Mellersh.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-7960
From
Osbert Salvin
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Brompton
Source of text
DAR 177: 20
Physical description
2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7960,” accessed on 27 November 2021, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/?docId=letters/DCP-LETT-7960.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 19

letter