skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Louis Rérolle   22 June 1870

Lyon,

June 22 1870

Sir

I feel very pleased and grateful that my translation should have met with your approbation.1 I am glad to say that Mr Reinwald will immediately forward at his expense the copies to MM. C. Naudin, de Quatrefages and Planchon, and to the Botanical Society of France, from the author. A copy for Mr Charles Martins has been already sent to him at the Faculté de Médecine of Montpellier.2

I intend myself to send a few to the following persons, whose names are probably not unfamiliar to you: MM. Duchartre, Brongniart and Baillon, at Paris; M. Lecoq, prof. at Clermont–Ferrand; M. Godron, prof. at Nancy; and M. Alph. de Candolle, at Geneva.3

I remain, Sir, with much respect, your obliged and faithful servant | Louis Rérolle

Footnotes

Rérolle refers to his translation into French of CD’s Orchids (Rérolle trans. 1870). See letter from Louis Rérolle, 15 June 1870. CD’s letter to Rérolle has not been found.
Charles-Ferdinand Reinwald was the publisher of Rérolle trans. 1870. Rérolle also refers to Charles Victor Naudin, Armand de Quatrefages, Jules Emile Planchon, and Charles Frédéric Martins.
Pierre Etienne Simon Duchartre, Adolphe Théodore Brongniart, Ernest Henri Baillon, Henri Lecoq, Dominique Alexandre Godron, and Alphonse de Candolle.

Bibliography

Orchids: On the various contrivances by which British and foreign orchids are fertilised by insects, and on the good effects of intercrossing. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1862.

Summary

Copies of the French translation of Orchids were sent to C. V. Naudin, Quatrefages de Bréau, and Charles Martins at CD’s request and to Duchartre, Brongniart, Baillon, Lecoq, Godron, and Alphonse de Candolle on Rérolle’s initiative.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-7240
From
Louis Rérolle
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Lyons
Source of text
DAR 176: 133
Physical description
2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7240,” accessed on 12 May 2021, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-7240.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 18

letter