skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Edward Blyth   14 September [1869]1

Down. | Beckenham | Kent. S.E.

Septr 14th

My dear Mr. Blyth.

Very many thanks for your attempts to find out about the Mandrills:2 I have written to several Zoolog. Gardens on the continent, but with no success.—3 I have got from Sir W. Elliot & others some information about Indian Boar & Elephant confirming your impression.—4

I am very sorry to hear that you have been so badly treated by the manager of L. & W.5 He has cut his own throat; for to my mind your articles were incomparably the best which appeared. I left off taking in L. & W. a little time ago, for I found I had not time to read so many periodicals; but I have doubted since whether I was wise, & this was exclusively on account of your articles.

Anyhow the case is now decided. I must think about the Field.6

With many thanks | Yours sincerely | C. Darwin


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from Edward Blyth, 13 September 1869.
CD cited William Elliot on the wild boar in Descent 1: 267. See letters from Walter Elliot, 7 August 1869 and 7 September 1869.
CD refers to Land and Water; see letter from Edward Blyth, 13 September 1869.
Blyth had started writing for the Field.


Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.


Thanks EB for his attempts to find out about the mandrills;

sorry to hear that he has been so badly treated by the manager of Land and Water.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Edward Blyth
Sent from
Source of text
McGill University Library, Department of Rare Books
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6891,” accessed on 3 August 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 17