skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From John Abberley (Darwin gardener)1 and R. W. Darwin   18 October 1841


I have gather the seed Peas but i dount see heney new kinds at all in them as the came up true to the sorts the Woodford Peas is Mildew i have all the sorts by themselves


I have not gather all the seed of the Beans & I think the [ fan] bean is in Clind to be a Mule for some of the seeds are tinge with green on the Edges2


I gather a Little thyme seed but it is verrey Poor the wet as been against it ripeing But i have cut some of the flowers to dry & verrey Liklea thear might be some seeds in it

the Cucumber that the insects carred Pollen tou i have cut oppen but not one seed was in it the Horther that I dusted with the Pollen had plenty of seeds in it

I have tow moore furit which the insects have dust with Pollen as soon Sir that the are Redy i will Let you hear about them

Abberly has just given me the above letter to read and as he is busy I told him he had not make any conclusion as I would direct it for him. he has something more to say, but it shall be added to some letter of your sisters.

Your affecti— father | R W D 18 Oct 41


In CD’s Account Book (Down House MS) for 19 July 1841, Abberley is listed together with other members of the household staff at The Mount.
In his Questions & experiments notebook (Notebooks) CD has ‘Get Abberley to plant single Peas, Kidney Bean & Bean, intertwined, *without sticks [interl]—in reference to what Mr Herbert observe on this subject—’ (DAR 206: 11). There are further references to Abberley on pp. 10a, 14.


Notebooks: Charles Darwin’s notebooks, 1836–1844. Geology, transmutation of species, metaphysical enquiries. Transcribed and edited by Paul H. Barrett et al. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press for the British Museum (Natural History). 1987.


The family gardener reports on seeds he has gathered. RWD transmits the letter.

Letter details

Letter no.
John Abberley; Robert Waring Darwin
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 162: 78
Physical description
1p, CD notes 3pp, encl AL 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 610,” accessed on 2 July 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 2