skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Julius von Haast   26 December [1865]1

Down. | Bromley. | Kent. S.E.

Dec 26

My dear Dr Haast

I have received your last note & several printed papers,2 some of which I have read with interest; others are still unread, lying in a large pile with other publications. These are all unread for I have been ill since April & for this same reason I have not sooner written to thank you. I am at last getting somewhat better 〈I〉 enclose my photograph which I had quite forgotten.3

I have written about your certificate for the Royal Soc. which I shall have much pleasure in signing & will do any thing I can in aid; but I hear there are so many applicants that I dare say you will have to wait a year or two.4 I am much obliged for the N.Z. newspaper with your lecture which seemed to me very well written.5 What magnificent scenery & glacial action you describe!

Mr S. Butler is now established in London as an artist.6 He lately sent me a clever theological pamphlet.7 I should have much liked to have seen him here & have heard N.Z. news, but the bad state of my health has rendered this impossible.

Believe me dear Dr Haast | yours sincerely | Charles Darwin


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from Julius von Haast, 27 September 1865.
See letter from Julius von Haast, 27 September 1865 and n. 13. CD probably sent the photograph taken in 1864 by his son William Erasmus Darwin. The photograph is reproduced as the frontispiece to Correspondence vol. 12.
Haast had requested that CD support his candidacy for the fellowship of the Royal Society of London (see letter from Julius von Haast, 27 September 1865 and n. 6, and letter from J. D. Hooker, [23] December 1865).
See letter from Samuel Butler, 1 October 1865 and n. 2. Butler had lived in Canterbury, New Zealand, from 1858 to 1864 (DNB).
[Butler] 1865. See letter to Samuel Butler, 30 September [1865] and nn. 2 and 3.


Has been ill since April, so has not read all of JvH’s papers.

Encloses his photograph.

Has written to support JvH for Royal Society.

Samuel Butler [returned from New Zealand] is now established in London as an artist.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
John Francis Julius (Julius) von Haast
Sent from
Source of text
Alexander Turnbull Library, Haast family papers, MS-Papers-0037-051
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 4956,” accessed on 25 June 2019,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 13