skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Williams & Norgate   10 April [1860]1

Down Bromley Kent

Ap 10

Dear Sir

Will you be so kind as to send those two copies of the Translation of my Origin, which I received this morning (I presume through you) & which I now send to you by Post, to

Prof. Van der Hoeven

& to

Prof. Moleschott.—2

I believe Van der Hoeven lives at Leyden, but I do not know where Prof. Moleschott lives, but Prof. Huxley3 tells me that you will probably know.

Kindly charge carriage to me; likewise for a copy of English Edition, which I have asked Mr Murray to send you for my Prof Liebig of Munich.—4

Dear Sir | yours faithfully | C. Darwin

Footnotes

The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to H. G. Bronn, 10 April [1860] (Correspondence vol. 8).
CD refers to the German translation of Origin, Bronn trans. 1860, to Jan van der Hoeven, and to Jacob Moleschott. Hoeven and Moleschott’s names appear on CD’s presentation list for the German translation of Origin (see Correspondence vol. 8, Appendix III).
Thomas Henry Huxley.
CD refers to John Murray and Justus von Liebig. Liebig’s name appears on CD’s presentation list for the second edition of Origin (Correspondence vol. 8, Appendix III).

Summary

Asks Williams & Norgate to forward one copy of the German translation of Origin (Bronn trans. 1860) to Jan van der Hoeven, and another to Jacob Moleschott.

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 2755F,” accessed on 11 July 2020, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-2755F.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 18 (Supplement)

letter