skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To T. C. Eyton   24 [November 1859]

Ilkley Wells House | Otley, Yorkshire

24th

Dear Eyton

Many thanks for your note.— My Book will horrify & disgust you, though I have already met with far more accordance than I expected from several high authorities.—

I shd. much like to have the Book you refer to.— I honour & admire your zeal in going to Hythe to drill.1

Englishmen are showing themselves worthy of the name.

Believe me | Yours very sincerely | C. Darwin

Footnotes

Eyton joined the yeomanry cavalry of Shropshire in 1859 (DNB). The volunteer movement in Britain was a semi-official response to the threat of invasion by France. A bill had been passed in Parliament earlier in the year to allow civilians to be trained and issued with guns by the army at the School of Musketry in Hythe, Kent (Annual Register 1859, History, pp. 122–3).

Bibliography

DNB: Dictionary of national biography. Edited by Leslie Stephen and Sidney Lee. 63 vols. and 2 supplements (6 vols.). London: Smith, Elder & Co. 1885–1912. Dictionary of national biography 1912–90. Edited by H. W. C. Davis et al. 9 vols. London: Oxford University Press. 1927–96.

Summary

Mentions reactions to Origin. It will "horrify and disgust" TCE.

Some authorities approve more than CD expected.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-2546
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
Thomas Campbell Eyton
Sent from
Ilkley
Source of text
American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.177)
Physical description
2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 2546,” accessed on 22 October 2020, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-2546.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 7

letter