skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To D. F. Nevill   15 July [1875]1

Down, | Beckenham, Kent. | Railway Station | Orpington. S.E.R.

July 15th

Dear Lady Dorothy Nevill.

I am proud to send my autograph, & am delighted to hear that any part of my book has interested you.— I ought to have answered your last note, but I was at the time quite overwhelmed with letters.—2 We shall be very glad to see your Ladyship here, but I hope to be in London late in the autumn when I will call on you, & this will save your long journey3

Your Ladyships | Very faithfully & obliged | Ch. Darwin

From the Author | With Kind Regards.

Footnotes

The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from D. F. Nevill, 2 July [1875].
Nevill had thanked CD for his gift of Insectivorous plants and had requested his autograph (letters from D. F. Nevill, 2 July [1875] and 13 [July 1875].
CD next made an extended visit to London from 10 to 20 December 1875, but there is no record of his meeting Nevill then.

Bibliography

Insectivorous plants. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1875.

Summary

Sends his autograph

and is delighted DN was interested by part of his book [Insectivorous plants].

Would be pleased to see DN at Down.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-10068
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
Dorothy Fanny Nevill
Sent from
Down
Source of text
DAR 185: 122
Physical description
1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10068,” accessed on 1 August 2021, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-10068.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 23

letter