skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Thomas Gold Appleton   31 March [1846]1

Down Bromley Kent

March 31

Dear Mr. Appleton

I was much surprised a few days since by receiving your kind present of Fremont’s Expedition,2—a work of which I had seen extracts & had been for some time wishing to read—so that it is a most desirable present in itself & I feel very much gratified at your kind remembrance of us.— Mrs. Darwin & the children are all very well & we are leading our usual quiet life in our quiet village of Down.— Some not long time since we had a visit from Mrs. Mackintosh & Robert, with only the Baby, as the other children were a little unwell.3 Your sister looked decidedly better than when I last saw her before, but yet sadly delicate— I hope to hear of her paying you a visit at Boston this summer.— Robert has at last finished his collected works of Sir James, & I am delighted to hear that they are likely to sell well; it always has appeared to me rather a hazardous undertaking in a money point of view.4

With Emma’s kind remembrances pray believe me, with thanks | yours very sincerely | C. Darwin


The year is established by the reference to Mackintosh 1846.
CD refers to John Charles Frémont and Frémont 1845. CD’s annotated copy of Frémont 1845 is in the Darwin Library–CUL; he read it in 1846 (see CD’s Reading notebooks, Correspondence vol. 4, Appendix IV, 119: 17a).
CD refers to Mary and Robert James Mackintosh and their children Angus, Eva, and Ronald. Mary was Appleton’s sister.
CD refers to Mackintosh 1846. James Mackintosh was Robert Mackintosh’s father.


Thanks for the gift of Frémont 1845. Has had a visit from R. J. Mackintosh and his wife Mary, Appleton’s sister.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Thomas Gold Appleton
Source of text
Private collection

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 968F,” accessed on 17 October 2019,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 18 (Supplement)