skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From J. V. Carus   21 July [1873]1

53, George Street, | Edinburgh

July 21st. | 1872

My dear Sir,

I shall leave Edinbh. Sunday next and stay a few days in London   Would it be not disturbing you too much if I come Tuesday to you? Wednesday is a soirée at the R. College of Surgeons and Thursday I go to Oxford to spend a few hours with my old friends Max Müller and Acland. So there remains only Monday and Tuesday. Perhaps you will be kind enough to let me know with one word, if I may come and when it suits you best. As I do not travel alone this time, but with my eldest daughter, who has to take care of me, I venture to ask you if I may bring her with me. A note from you will find me in London: care of Dr. Lionel S. Beale, 61 Grosvenor Street, W.2

I am happy to say, my work is now over. I am very much satisfied and think on the whole that it was not without success3

Believe me | Yours very sincerely | J. Victor Carus

Footnotes

The year is established by the date of Carus’s visit to England (see letter from J. V. Carus, [before 8 May 1873]). Carus wrote ‘1872’ in error.
Carus and Lionel Smith Beale became friends in the 1840s, when they were working for Henry Wentworth Acland at the Anatomical Museum in Oxford. Carus subsequently translated some of Beale’s works into German (ODNB and Complete dictionary of scientific biography). Carus also refers to Friedrich Max Müller. Carus’s eldest daughter has not been identified.
Carus had recently completed the German translation of Expression (Carus trans. 1872) and the second German edition of Variation (Carus trans. 1873).

Bibliography

Complete dictionary of scientific biography. By Charles Coulston Gillispie, Frederic Lawrence Holmes, and Noretta Koertge. Electronic publication. Detroit: Charles Scribner’s Sons. 2008.

Expression: The expression of the emotions in man and animals. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1872.

ODNB: Oxford dictionary of national biography: from the earliest times to the year 2000. (Revised edition.) Edited by H. C. G. Matthew and Brian Harrison. 60 vols. and index. Oxford: Oxford University Press. 2004.

Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.

Summary

JVC’s travel plans in England. Hopes to visit CD.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-8992
From
Julius Victor Carus
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Edinburgh
Source of text
DAR 161: 83
Physical description
2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8992,” accessed on 26 September 2020, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-8992.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 21

letter