skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To D. Appleton & Co.   16 March 1872

Down, | Beckenham, Kent.

March l6. 1872

Dear Sir

I received a short time since your letter of Feb. 23d, in which you give me so gratifying an account of the sale of my works.—1 I have heard from Mr. Layton that he will pay me in a few days a cheque for £427"s13"d8, & I now write to you to express my acknowledgments for this remuneration which I consider magnificent.2

I beg leave to remain | Dear Sir | Yours very faithfully | Ch. Darwin

To | Messrs Appleton & Co

I am very much pleased that my old Journal of Travels3 has sold pretty well.—

Footnotes

See letter from D. Appleton & Co., 23 February 1872 and n. 1. No letter from Charles Layton on the subject has been found.
Journal of researches US ed. (1871). See letters from D. Appleton & Co., 17 February 1872 and n. 2, and 23 February 1872.

Bibliography

Journal of researches US ed. (1871): Journal of researches into the natural history and geology of the countries visited during the voyage of H.M.S. Beagle round the world, under the command of Capt. Fitz Roy, R.N. By Charles Darwin. New edition. New York: D. Appleton and Company. 1871.

Summary

Acknowledges payment from sale of his books.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-8244
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
D. Appleton & Co
Sent from
London, Devonshire St, 9 Down letterhead
Source of text
American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.412)
Physical description
3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8244,” accessed on 7 December 2019, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-8244.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 20

letter