skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To William Ogle   21 December [1871]

Down, | Beckenham, Kent. [6 Queen Anne Street, London.]

Dec. 21st

My dear Dr. Ogle

Many thanks for your paper, which I shall be particularly glad soon to read.1

It was lucky for me that I gave you the “severe reprimand” about the paging!2 Thanks, also, about the Platysma. I have asked several persons to observe this troublesome muscle, during a shivering fit, but all have failed.3 I am very much obliged to you for your kindness to my son, Francis, who has told me of several interesting conversations which he has had with you.4

Yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin


CD refers to Ogle’s paper ‘On dextral pre-eminence’ (Ogle 1871). CD’s annotated offprint of the paper is in the Darwin Pamphlet Collection–CUL.
See letter to William Ogle, 12 March [1871] and n. 8. Ogle wrote a note on the title page of CD’s copy of Ogle 1871: ‘Page 1 corresponds to page 279 in the Volume of Med. Chir. Transactions.’
No letter from Ogle mentioning the platysma myoides muscle in connection with shivering has been found, but CD may have discussed the matter in person with Ogle during his visit to London between 14 and 22 December 1871 (see ‘Journal’ (Appendix II)). CD had discussed the contraction of the platysma with Ogle in earlier correspondence and in person (see Correspondence vol. 18, letter to William Ogle, 9 November 1870, and letter from William Ogle, [10–17 November 1870], and this volume passim).
Francis Darwin was studying medicine at St George’s Hospital, London, where Ogle was a lecturer on physiology and assistant physician (The Times, 15 April 1912, p. 9).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Ogle, William. 1871. On dextral pre-eminence. [Read 27 June 1871.] Transactions of the Royal Medical and Chirurgical Society of London 54: 279–301.


Thanks WO for a paper and for information about platysma. Has asked several persons to observe the muscle during a shivering fit, but all have failed.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
William Ogle
Sent from
London, Queen Anne St, 6 Down letterhead
DE 21 71
Source of text
DAR 261.5: 12 (EH 88205910)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8115,” accessed on 31 May 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 19