skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Emma Darwin   [20 or 27 October 1844]1



My visit is going off very pleasantly; and my father is in excellent spirits. I have had a deal of “parchment talk,” as Catherine calls it, with my father, and shall have a good deal of wisdom to distil into you when I return, about Wills, &c.… My father says that Susan, the evening before she went, was enthusiastic in her admiration of you, in which you know how my father joins. I did not require to be reminded how well, my own dear wife, you have borne your dull life with your poor old sickly complaining husband. Your children will be a greater comfort to you than I ever can be, God bless them and you. Give my love and a very nice kiss to Willy and Annie and poor Budgy,2 and tell them how much I liked their little notes, which I read aloud to grandpapa. I shall be very glad to see them again. I always fancy I see Budgy putting her tongue out and looking up to me. Good-bye, my dears. | C. Darwin.


Dated from the ‘Journal’ (Correspondence vol. 3, Appendix II): ‘1844 … Oct 18th to 29th at Shrewsbury’.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.


Has been discussing wills and other legal matters with his father.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Emma Wedgwood/Emma Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
Emma Darwin 2: 92

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 783,” accessed on 15 April 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 3