skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. M. Herbert   [after 5 June 1840]

Maer Hall | Newcastle Stafford

My dear Herbert,

I am so curious to hear a little news of you & your affairs, that I cannot resist begging you to send me a line & tell me, whether the date &c &c of the event, are fixed—1 When I saw you, you could tell me nothing.— Now be a good man & send me a note & just tell me, what has been fixed & that you are very well.—

We shall remain in the country (at Shrewsbury & here) for some weeks longer.— I am getting better, though rather slowly & as I do not yet feel up to work, I dont care how long I stay in the country.2

Do comply with my request my good old Herbert & believe me, with my hearty good wishes & renewed congratulations | your sincere friend, | Charles Darwin


Probably a reference to Herbert’s forthcoming marriage to Mary-Anne Johnes of Lower Garthmyl, Montgomeryshire. It took place on 13 August 1840 (Gentleman’s Magazine n.s. 14 (1840): 423).
CD stayed at Maer until November (‘Journal’; Correspondence vol. 2, Appendix II). He was ill a good part of the summer.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 28 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.


Writes to find whether the date of the event [JMH’s marriage?] has been fixed.

Has been unwell and does not yet feel up to work.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
John Maurice Herbert
Sent from
Source of text
American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.19)
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 571,” accessed on 18 May 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 2