skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From George Varenne Reed   15 August 1864

Hayes Rectory | S.E.

Augt. 15. 1864

My dear Sir.

I was rejoiced to see your handwriting again.1 I scarcely know how to reply to your letter but perhaps if I name 12 guineas, you will not deem it encroaching, for of course time is valuable.2

I hope Horace is making progress, but his mind is so far advanced, that grounding which he requires, is sad drudgery to him, especially as his health is not very strong.3

I am as pleased with his visits as he is, but on hot days he has occasionally been unequal to much exertion,—but I hope, as the weather gets cooler he will have greater energy.

With our mutual kind regards | I remain | Yours very ⁠⟨⁠truly⁠⟩⁠ | G V Reed


CD’s letter to Reed has not been found.
Reed refers to an enquiry from CD concerning fees for tutoring CD’s son, Horace Darwin. An entry in CD’s Account book–cash account (Down House MS) for 16 August 1864 records a payment to Reed of £12 12s. for services between 19 April and 19 July.
Horace was ill during much of 1863 and 1864 (see Correspondence vol. 11 and this volume).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.


Horace Darwin making progress, but tires easily and does not like drudgery.

Letter details

Letter no.
George Varenne Reed
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Hayes Rectory
Source of text
DAR 176: 79
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 4591,” accessed on 20 May 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 12