skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To H. W. Bates   11 June [1862]1

Down Bromley Kent

June 11th

Dear Bates.

The writer of the enclosed is my Brother-in-law who studies & writes on Language.2 Can you answer his question & tell me? I hope that your Book progresses & all goes well.—3 I have been not so well lately—

Yours very sincerely | C. Darwin


The year is established by the relationship to the letter from H. W. Bates, 14 June 1862.
The enclosure has not been found. Emma Darwin’s brother, Hensleigh Wedgwood, was probably collecting material for his book on the origin of language (Wedgwood 1866). Wedgwood cited Bates 1863 regarding the language of Amazonian Indians in Wedgwood 1866, pp. 29–30 and 132.
Bates 1863. Following Bates’s return to Britain in 1859 after 11 years spent exploring the Amazon region, CD had encouraged him to write an account of his travels in South America (see Correspondence vol. 9, and this volume, letter from H. W. Bates, 6 January 1862, and letter to H. W. Bates, 13 January [1862]).


Bates, Henry Walter. 1863. The naturalist on the River Amazons. A record of adventures, habits of animals, sketches of Brazilian and Indian life, and aspects of nature under the equator, during eleven years of travel. 2 vols. London: John Murray.

Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Wedgwood, Hensleigh. 1866. On the origin of language. London: N. Trübner & Co.


Encloses a question [missing] concerning language [from Hensleigh Wedgwood].

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Henry Walter Bates
Sent from
Source of text
American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.284)
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 3596,” accessed on 16 June 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 10