skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Edward Cresy   26 [December 1843 – April 1846 or September 1855 – October 1860?]1

Down, Bromley, Kent.


My dear Sir,

In answer to 2 or 3 letters of mine I heard only this morning from Dr.  Hooker, who desires me to thank you particularly for offer of plant, but they do not want any.2 He says he has been so overwhelmed with work, that he really could not write before.

In Haste, | Yours sincerely, | C. Darwin.


The date is conjectured by the address, the reference to Joseph Dalton Hooker, and the salutation. CD moved to Down in September 1842 and used the Down, Bromley, Kent address until April 1846 and then again from after August 1855 until 1869. He also used this address in the second half of 1853. Hooker returned from his Antarctic expedition in September 1843 (R. Desmond 1999, p. 85); CD appears to have written to him for the first time in November (see Correspondence vol. 2, letter to J. D. Hooker, [13 or 20 November 1843]). CD started addressing Cresy as ‘Dear Cresy’ in his letters rather than ‘My dear sir’ in November 1860.
The letters referred to have not been found, and the plant has not been identified. ‘Dr. Hooker’ is J. D. Hooker, assistant director of the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, from 1855 to 1865.


Desmond, Ray. 1999. Sir Joseph Dalton Hooker, traveller and plant collector. Woodbridge, Suffolk: Antique Collectors’ Club with the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew.


Says Hooker does not want plant.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Edward Cresy, Jr
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 143: 311
Physical description
C 1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 13787,” accessed on 23 July 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 13 (Supplement)