skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. de C. Sowerby   [26 May 1850]1

Down Farnborough Kent


My dear Sir

I am sorry to trouble you but may I beg you to inform me how you get on. I must come up on June 3d. & wd. call on you early on Tuesday morning the 4th, if you can see me. I wd bring up a few more specimens & some of your drawings which require a few small corrections. Possibly we might so arrange it, that some of the more simple drawings might be done direct on the Copper.— I must beg & urge you to despatch; for really I must return the specimens before very long.—

I could give a list in order of the species, & by making merely the rudest outlines we might perhaps arrange it, so that you might begin to engrave.— The Council of Pal: Soc: urge me on; but my answer to everyone is that my M.S. is & has been for some time ready, & all depends on you.—

Please to let me hear soon.—

Your’s very sincerely | C. Darwin


The date is based on an entry of 6 June 1850 in CD’s Account Book (Down House MS) recording the expenses of the trip to London referred to in the letter. CD’s paper ‘On British fossil Lepadidae’ (Collected papers 1: 251–2) was read to the Geological Society on Wednesday, 5 June 1850. A date of Sunday, 2 June, would have left insufficient time for CD to receive an answer before the proposed visit.


Collected papers: The collected papers of Charles Darwin. Edited by Paul H. Barrett. 2 vols. Chicago and London: University of Chicago Press. 1977.


Urges dispatch on illustrations [for Fossil Cirripedia]; CD’s MS has been ready for some time and all depends on JdeCS. Suggests a way to hasten progress.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
James de Carle Sowerby
Sent from
Source of text
American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1333,” accessed on 12 May 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 4