skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To W. J. Hooker   [c. February 1849]1

Down Farnborough Kent

Sunday

Dear Sir William Hooker

I am very much obliged to you for remembering the interest which I always feel in your son’s progress & for forwarding to me Hodgson’s letter, which I now return. I am delighted that everything looks so flourishing.

I am much obliged to your kindness in sending me the pamphlets.—2

Your son promised me a copy of his Galapagos Flora Paper.3 I am really anxious to possess a copy: can you let me have one & at anytime leave or send it to the Athenæum Club: I hope that I am not unreasonable in this request.

Pray be so good as to remember me very kindly to Lady & Miss Hooker & believe me with my best thanks | Yours very faithfully | C. Darwin

Footnotes

The date is based on J. D. Hooker’s statement that the pamphlets referred to in the letter had been sent from India in October 1848 (see second letter from JD. Hooker, 3 February 1849). Parcels appear to have taken about six months to reach England, while letters took about two.
J. D. Hooker 1845a and 1846b. Hooker had read these two papers on Galápagos flora to the Linnean Society in 1845 and 1846. Although they were not published in the Transactions until 1851, printed texts were available in 1849. CD probably refers to ‘The vegetation of the Galápagos Archipelago’ (J. D. Hooker 1846b). See also letter to JD. Hooker, 28 March 1849.

Bibliography

Hooker, Joseph Dalton. 1845a. An enumeration of the plants of the Galapagos Archipelago; with descriptions of those which are new. [Read 4 March, 6 May, and 16 December 1845.] Transactions of the Linnean Society of London 20 (1846–51): 163–233.

Hooker, Joseph Dalton. 1846b. On the vegetation of the Galapagos Archipelago, as compared with that of some other tropical islands and of the continent of America. [Read 1 and 15 December 1846.] Transactions of the Linnean Society of London 20 (1846–51): 235–62.

Summary

Thanks WJH for information on J. D. Hooker’s progress.

J. D. Hooker promised a copy of his Galapagos paper. Can WJH forward one to the Athenaeum?

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-1218
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
William Jackson Hooker
Sent from
Down
Source of text
Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Directors’ Correspondence English letters A–J 1849, 27: 155)
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1218,” accessed on 4 March 2024, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/?docId=letters/DCP-LETT-1218.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 4

letter