skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Raphael Meldola   7 February 1879

Down,

Feb. 7th. 1879.

Dear Mr. Meldola,

Pray keep Kosmos as long as you like, and I am glad to hear that you will write abstract.1 I can’t but think Mr. Sampson Low right about subscription, and I beg you to put down my name.2

I have Mr. Edward’s paper3 but have not yet found time to read it—& I have seen Mr. Saunders but many thanks for telling me— I have many letters to write so no more4

Yours very faithfully | Ch. Darwin.

Wallace’s article in 19th. Cent; seemed to me quite excellent.5

Footnotes

Meldola had borrowed an issue of Kosmos containing F. Müller 1879a from CD; see letter from Raphael Meldola, 6 February 1879 and n. 2.
See letter from Raphael Meldola, 6 February 1879 and n. 3. Sampson Low, Marston, Searle & Rivington had agreed to publish Weismann 1880–2 on the condition that subscription circulars be issued.
CD wrote ‘Saunders’ in error; Meldola referred to Scudder 1877 in his letter of 6 February 1879.
Alfred Russel Wallace’s ‘Animals and their native countries’ (Wallace 1879) was published in Nineteenth Century; see letter from Raphael Meldola, 6 February 1879 and n. 6.

Bibliography

Müller, Fritz. 1879a. Epicalia Acontius. Ein ungleiches Ehepaar. Kosmos 4 (1878–9): 285–92.

Scudder, Samuel Hubbard. 1877. Antigeny, or sexual dimorphism in butterflies. [Read 14 March 1877.] Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences 12: 150–8.

Wallace, Alfred Russel. 1879c. Animals and their native countries. Nineteenth Century 5: 247–59.

Weismann, August. 1880–2. Studies in the theory of descent. Translated by Raphael Meldola. 3 parts. Part I (1880): On the seasonal dimorphism of butterflies. Part II (1881): The origin of the markings of caterpillars. On phyletic parallelism in metamorphic species. Part III (1882): The transformation of the Mexican axolotl into amblystoma. On the mechanical conception of nature. London: Sampson Low, Marston, Searle, & Rivington.

Summary

Wishes to subscribe to RM’s translation of Weismann.

Has seen Scudder’s article.

A. R. Wallace’s article ["Animals and their native countries", Nineteenth Century 5 (1879): 247–59] is excellent.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-11862
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
Raphael Meldola
Sent from
Down
Source of text
Oxford University Museum of Natural History (Hope Entomological Collections 1350: Hope/Westwood Archive, Darwin folder)
Physical description
C 2pp, CD cov

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 11862,” accessed on 4 March 2024, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/?docId=letters/DCP-LETT-11862.xml

letter