skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To A. S. Wilson   4 [June] 18791

Down

Jan: 4. 1879

My dear Sir

Your excellent article in the Gardeners Chronicle has led, I have no doubt, to my receiving the enclosed letter, from a very great man, the Governor General of Turkestan, and he encloses his letter in an envelope worthy of his lofty position!—2 I should hope and think that a collection of the varieties of wheat from such little known regions might possess some interest. Shall I send them to you to describe or to do whatever you may think fit, whenever I receive them? If so, will you kindly make any memoranda which may be required, from the enclosed letter, which be so good as to return, as I must thank his Excellency for his gracious act.3

Pray believe me, my dear Sir | Yours sincerely | Charles Darwin

Footnotes

The month is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from K. P. Kaufman, 9 May 1879. The copyist wrote ‘Jan’ in error.
See letter from K. P. von Kaufman, 9 May 1879. Konstantin Petrovich Kaufman mentioned having read in the newspapers that CD was studying different varieties of wheat. CD had received a large box of wheat from the governor of the Russian province of Saratov, Mikhail Nikolaevich Galkin-Vraskoi (see Correspondence vol. 26, letter from G. M. Asher, 14 February 1878). Kaufman could not have read Wilson’s article on the Russian wheat, since it was published in Gardeners’ Chronicle, 24 May 1879, after Kaufman wrote to CD (Wilson 1879).
For CD’s letter to Kaufman, see Correspondence vol. 30, letter to K. P. von Kaufman, 4 June 1879. The wheat specimens never arrived (see letter to A. S. Wilson, 30 December [1879]).

Bibliography

Wilson, Alexander Stephen. 1879. Experiments with kubanka and saxonica wheat: first year’s experiments and results. Gardeners’ Chronicle, 24 May 1879, pp. 652–4.

Summary

Mentions wheat varieties sent by Governor General of Turkestan.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-11820
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
Alexander Stephen Wilson
Sent from
Down
Source of text
DAR 148: 366
Physical description
C 1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 11820,” accessed on 4 March 2024, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/?docId=letters/DCP-LETT-11820.xml

letter