skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To WTThiselton-Dyer   11 August 1877

Down, | Beckenham, Kent. | Railway Station | Orpington. S.E.R.

Aug 11. 1877

My dear Dyer

The plants have arrived in a very fair condition; & many thanks for them.1 Pray also thank Mr Lynch for his information about the removal of the bloom & for his trials on the logwood; all of which are very useful to me.2 We are beginning to get some gleams of light, which rejoices me, for I have been much annoyed to think that I should have given you endless trouble with no result.

I do not like that you should write to Mr Smith on the mere chance of his seeing any plants close to the seashore & protected by bloom which could be potted & sent to Orpington S.E.R., for I fear it would be giving you trouble with no good result, tho’ any such plant would be of use to me.3

Believe me yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin

P.S. | Thirty plants of Dionæa have just arrived from Veitch so we will tackle them.4


See letter from W. T. Thiselton-Dyer, 10 August 1877 and n. 1. CD had asked for more plants for his research on the function of bloom.
Richard Irwin Lynch was foreman of the propagating department at the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew. CD had mentioned that, in his trials on a small plant of logwood (Haematoxylum campechianum), the leaves did not move when syringed with tepid water; he asked Thiselton-Dyer whether a gardener at Kew could repeat the trial on a large tree (see letter to W. T. Thiselton-Dyer, 22 July [1877]). CD’s notes on his experiments with logwood, dated 18 to 31 July, are in DAR 66: 117–18. No letter from Lynch on his trials has been found.
See letter from WTThiselton-Dyer, 10 August 1877. John Smith, curator of the herbarium at Kew, was staying at the seaside town of Bude in Cornwall.
The Veitches were a family of nurserymen with several establishments. CD had probably ordered the plants of Dionaea muscipula (Venus fly trap) from the Chelsea branch of the firm (see letter to Veitch & Sons, [before 11 August 1877]).


Thanks for plants.

Thanks R. I. Lynch for information about "bloom" on leaves.

WTT-D should not write to Mr Smith about plants near seashore.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Sent from
Source of text
Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Darwin: Letters to Thiselton-Dyer, 1873–81: ff. 85–6)
Physical description
LS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 11102,” accessed on 2 March 2024,