skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To John Andrews   [before 12 March 1877]1

Down, | Beckenham, Kent. | Railway Station | Orpington. S.E.R.

Dear Sir,

I have been expecting to receive my waggonette before this time & shall be much obliged to you to let me know when I can send for it.

Unless it is finished within a week, I should be glad if you would let me have a waggonette or phaeton meanwhile2

Yours faithfully | Ch Darwin


The date is established by entries in CD’s Account books; see n. 2, below.
Waggonette: a four-wheeled carriage, made open or with a removable cover and furnished with a seat or bench at each side facing inwards and one or two seats arranged crosswise in front; phaeton: a type of light four-wheeled open carriage, usually drawn by a pair of horses, and having one or two seats facing forward (OED). In his Account books–cash account (Down House MS), CD recorded paying Andrews £128 12s. 6d. on 12 March 1877 for ‘New Carriage less old one £14’.


OED: The Oxford English dictionary. Being a corrected re-issue with an introduction, supplement and bibliography of a new English dictionary. Edited by James A. H. Murray, et al. 12 vols. and supplement. Oxford: Clarendon Press. 1970. A supplement to the Oxford English dictionary. 4 vols. Edited by R. W. Burchfield. Oxford: Clarendon Press. 1972–86. The Oxford English dictionary. 2d edition. 20 vols. Prepared by J. A. Simpson and E. S. C. Weiner. Oxford: Clarendon Press. 1989. Oxford English dictionary additional series. 3 vols. Edited by John Simpson et al. Oxford: Clarendon Press. 1993–7.


Asks when his waggonette will be finished.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
John Andrews
Sent from
Source of text
Haslemere Educational Museum (HAEEM.LD.5.729)
Physical description
L(S?) 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10890A,” accessed on 23 May 2024,