skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   [12 November 1846]1

Down Farnborough Kent


My dear Hooker

Would you be so kind as to send me a line to say whether you shall be up in London, on next Thursday, Friday or Saturday,, & if you are naturally coming up, will you appoint some hour & day at some place & I will be there: I am anxious to know at once whether you will be up, as I have appointments to make for all these days & cannot do so, till I hear from you.—

I believe Arthrobalanus has no ovisac at all!, & that the appearance of one is entirely owing to the splitting, & tucking up to the posterior penis, of the inner membrane of sack.— I have just found a Cirripede with an indisputably abortive anterior penis; so that this chief anomalous feature (viz two penes) in Arthro-balanus is in some degree brought within bounds.—

Ever yours | C. Darwin

The alteration in my microscope, in accordance with your advice, has really been beyond value: the porcupine quills better than the glass tubes; the Chutney Sauce capital, so that I have many daily memorials of you.

N.B. I have cleverly invented two blocks of wood to support my wrists when dissecting under microscope a splendid invention.



Dated on the basis of CD’s intention to visit London from 18 to 21 November (see letter to J. D. Hooker, [6 November 1846]).


Will JDH be in London?

Cirripede observations.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 114: 71
Physical description
ALS 4pp & C

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1022,” accessed on 19 May 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 3