skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To William Turner1   21 March [1873]

16 Montague St— | Portman Square—

March 21—

My dear Sir,

I have the pleasure to enclose a cheque for 10£ for the Murie Subscription—2 As the cheque is crossed, pray do not think of taking the trouble to acknowledge it.

My dear Sir, | Yours sincerely | Ch. Darwin—

Footnotes

Turner, professor of anatomy at the University of Edinburgh, is identified as the recipient of this letter in an annotation on the copy from which this transcription is taken; the copy was sent to Francis Darwin after CD’s death.
James Murie had resigned from his post as prosector to the Zoological Society of London in 1870 ostensibly on the grounds of ill health, having fallen out with colleagues there; CD had subsequently provided a reference in support of Murie’s unsuccessful application for a professorship at the Royal Veterinary College (Correspondence vol. 19, letter from James Murie, 2 March 1871 and n. 6; Correspondence vol. 20, letter to James Murie, 2 April 1872). Murie had responded to queries from CD on a number of occasions, and CD cited him in Descent 1: 151 for information suggesting that the embedded caudal vertebrae of Macacus inornatus were analogous to the coccyx in humans (see Correspondence vol. 16, letter from James Murie, 1 May 1868).

Summary

Sends £10 subscription for James Murie.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-8818
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
William Turner
Sent from
London, Montague St, 16
Source of text
DAR 148: 158
Physical description
1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8818,” accessed on 23 August 2019, http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/DCP-LETT-8818

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 21

letter