skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

DCP-LETT-7791

From G. H. Darwin   [after 13 June 1871]1

New University Club | St. James’s St.

Dear Father,

Things are going well at Camb. I think— It appears that the Seniority held that I had not seceded but have reserved the point as to whether the Act of Parlt. disqualifies me till next Friday & on this I cannot think that they will decide against me—2 Jackson3 writes that they are considering rather how to keep me in than kick me out.— I have been advised to send Cookson’s opinion to Burn & I’m going to see Hacon about it4

Yours affectly | G H Darwin

Footnotes

1
The date is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from G. H. Darwin, [13 June 1871].
2
George evidently refers to a decision by the senior fellows of Trinity College, Cambridge, in regard to the status of his fellowship at the college. He also refers to the Universities Tests Act, which received Royal Assent on 16 June 1871 (a Friday). See letter from G. H. Darwin, [13 June 1871] and n. 2.
3
Henry Jackson was a fellow at Trinity College.
4
George refers to Montague Hughes Cookson (a barrister), Robert Burn (a tutor at Trinity College), and William Mackmurdo Hacon (CD’s solicitor).

Summary

Discusses his position at Cambridge, which is apparently under threat.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-7791
From
Darwin, G. H.
To
Darwin, C. R.
Sent from
New University Club
Source of text
DAR 210.2: 19
Physical description
3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7791,” accessed on 30 July 2016, http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/DCP-LETT-7791

letter