skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From J. B. Innes   30 January 1868

Milton Brodie | Forres NB

30th. Jany 1868

Dear Darwin,

I heartily congratulate you and Mrs. Darwin on the splendid distinction your son has gained at Cambridge.1 I hope all his future course may be equally brilliant

Thanks for caring for my subscription to the School. Mr. Horsman reports favourably of its efficiency.2

The proprietor of Tromer Lodge is certainly anything but modest in his valuation.3 I lost the purchase of the place for a parsonage by Debenham’s letter to tell me of the sale being delayed a day, and told him to let me hear if it should be again for sale.4 But the price asked now, and what it may probably bring would be beyond the Church means— If Miss Wedgwood should buy it, I hope she will let us have the part away from the House or a portion of it for a Parsonage. I have tried in vain to get a site.5

With Mrs. Innes’6 kindest regards and congratulation— I am Dear Darwin— | Yours faithfully | J Brodie Innes.


George Howard Darwin was second in the final examination for the mathematical tripos at Cambridge (Cambridge University calendar 1868).
Innes refers to the National School for boys at Down, and to Samuel James O’Hara Horsman. See letter from J. B. Innes, 16 January 1868 and n. 1, and letter to J. B. Innes, 20 January [1868].
The reference is possibly to a partner in Debenham, Tewson and Farmer, auctioneers, surveyors, and estate agents (Post Office London directory 1868).
CD’s sister Sarah Elizabeth Wedgwood did acquire the property later in 1868. See letter from J. B. Innes, 14 December 1868.
Eliza Mary Brodie Innes.


Congratulates CD on son’s [George’s] distinction [Second Wrangler] at Cambridge.

Letter details

Letter no.
John Brodie Innes
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Milton Brodie
Source of text
DAR 167: 15
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5819,” accessed on 26 June 2019,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 16