Letter icon
Letter 5769

Darwin, C. R. to Darwin, Francis

8 [Mar 1868?]

    Summary Add

  • +

    A cheque written out for FD has never been presented to CD's bankers.

Transcription

Down

8th

My dear F.

On Jan. 29th 1868 I paid you a cheque for £14"10"0 (£10 out of your Legacy & 4"10.0 for Fees)— This cheque has never been presented to my Bankers; & I never knew a cheque so much delayed.—

What did you do with it? Did you send to Union Bank, or pay it to some Tradesman? if in Cambridge, enquire about it, & let me hear soon.— If you had lost it, you wd of course have told me.—

I hope the poor dear old ``Pelican on the House-top'' is jolly,— I shd think so from his last jolly note.—

Your affect. Father | C. Darwin

    Footnotes Add

  • +
    f1 5769.f1
    The month is conjectured and the year established from entries in CD's Account books--banking account (Down House MS). See n. 2, below.
  • +
    f2 5769.f2
    In CD's Account books--banking account a payment of £14 10s. to Francis Darwin is noted on 29 January 1868; alongside entries at the end of June 1868 is a note reading, `14.10 Frank old cheque not ticked off'. CD evidently placed a tick on his record of each cheque payment when the cheque was presented to his bankers. The 29 January payment does have a tick beside it, so presumably the cheque was eventually accounted for; however, no reply to this letter has been found.
  • +
    f3 5769.f3
    CD had banked with the Union Bank of London since 1853 (see Correspondence vol. 5, letter to John Higgins, 11 April [1853]). Francis was an undergraduate at Cambridge University.
  • +
    f4 5769.f4
    Presumably a loose reference to Ps. 101: 6--7: `I am like a pelican of the wilderness: I am like an owl of the desert. I watch, and am as a sparrow alone upon the house top', and to George Howard Darwin. George was a fellow at Cambridge University. No letter from George to his family from this time has been found.
Maximized view Print letter