Letter icon
Letter 4361

Darwin, C. R. to Haeckel, E. P. A.

30 Dec [1863] – 3 Jan [1864]

    Summary Add

  • +

    Will be proud to receive EH's Die Radiolarien [1862].

  • +

    Health continues very weak.

  • +

    [P.S. 3 Jan] Has sent EH another letter by mistake.

Transcription

Down. | Bromley. | Kent. S.E.

Dec 30

My dear Sir

Your letters are always most kind. I shall be proud to receive your monograph on the Radiolariæ which I saw & much admired in London; but I know so little of the group that in truth I am not worthy of your present. I sent off a few days since to Jena a copy of a paper by me, which if you have time I think is worth your reading.

My health continues very weak & I have no strength to spare, so I am sure you will excuse the brevity of this note.

With very sincere respect believe me my dear Sir | Yours truly obliged | Charles Darwin

P S. Jan 3.

By a mistake this letter was put in a wrong envelope & you will have have received another note addressed to a friend which I fear will have surprized you.

Please to tear it up. As there has been so much delay owing to my unfortunate mistake, I have directed this to Jena instead of to Berlin

    Footnotes Add

  • +
    f1 4361.f1
    The years are established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from Ernst Haeckel, 2 January 1864 (Correspondence vol. 12).
  • +
    f2 4361.f2
    The letter from Ernst Haeckel has not been found.
  • +
    f3 4361.f3
    Haeckel 1862. CD visited London several times in 1863 (see `Journal' (Correspondence vol. 11, Appendix II)), and may have seen Thomas Henry Huxley's copy of Haeckel's book, which Huxley had obtained in October 1862 (see L. Huxley ed. 1900, 1: 237).
  • +
    f4 4361.f4
    CD may have sent Haeckel a copy of `Two forms in species of Linum'.
  • +
    f5 4361.f5
    CD had mistakenly sent the letter for Ernst Haeckel to Hugh Falconer, and vice versa. See following letter, and Correspondence vol. 12, letter from Ernst Haeckel, 2 January 1864. The letter intended for Falconer has not been found.
  • +
    f6 4361.f6
    Haeckel must have told CD in a missing letter of his plans to move from Berlin to Jena in January 1864; Haeckel was professor extraordinarius of zoology at the University of Jena (DSB, NDB). See also Correspondence vol. 12, letter from Ernst Haeckel, 2 January 1864.
Maximized view Print letter