Letter icon
Letter 1859

Darwin, C. R. to Lubbock, John

24 Apr [1856]

    Summary Add

  • +

    Congratulations on JL's marriage. Invitation to dine at Down with the Hookers, Huxleys, and T. V. Wollaston.

Transcription

Down

April 24th

Dear Lubbock

Before I come to the purpose of my note, let me give you my very sincere congratulations on your marriage; & I do not believe that any of your many friends can send you more cordial & true good wishes.

Can you get “leave of absence” & come & dine here on Saturday at 7 oclock to meet Dr & Mrs Hooker, Mr Wollaston, Mr & Mrs Huxley.—

Mrs Darwin had intended (but is not at present quite well) to have ventured on a very early call on Mrs Lubbock in hopes of persuading her to come with you, but I fear there would have been but very little chance of the party at High Elms letting her leave home so soon.—

Dear Lubbock | Yours very sincerely | Ch Darwin

    Footnotes Add

  • +
    f1 1859.f1
    Dated by the reference to Lubbock's marriage (see n. 2, below).
  • +
    f2 1859.f2
    Lubbock had married Ellen Frances Hordern, only daughter of the late Peter Hordern of Chorlton-cum-Hardy, at Rostherne, Cheshire, on 10 April 1856 (Gentleman's Magazine (1856) pt 1: 640).
  • +
    f3 1859.f3
    Lubbock dined at Down House with CD and his visitors on 26 April (Emma Darwin's diary).
  • +
    f4 1859.f4
    On 17 April, Emma Darwin recorded in her diary: ‘I began to be bad.’ Charles Waring Darwin was born on 6 December 1856.
  • +
    f5 1859.f5
    The Lubbock family residence, a short distance from Down House.
Maximized view Print letter