skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To John Lubbock   24 April [1856]1


April 24th

Dear Lubbock

Before I come to the purpose of my note, let me give you my very sincere congratulations on your marriage;2 & I do not believe that any of your many friends can send you more cordial & true good wishes.

Can you get “leave of absence” & come & dine here on Saturday at 7 oclock to meet Dr. & Mrs Hooker, Mr Wollaston, Mr & Mrs. Huxley.—3

Mrs. Darwin had intended (but is not at present quite well)4 to have ventured on a very early call on Mrs. Lubbock in hopes of persuading her to come with you, but I fear there would have been but very little chance of the party at High Elms5 letting her leave home so soon.—

Dear Lubbock | Yours very sincerely | Ch Darwin


Dated by the reference to Lubbock’s marriage (see n. 2, below).
Lubbock had married Ellen Frances Hordern, only daughter of the late Peter Hordern of Chorlton-cum-Hardy, at Rostherne, Cheshire, on 10 April 1856 (Gentleman’s Magazine (1856) pt 1: 640).
Lubbock dined at Down House with CD and his visitors on 26 April (Emma Darwin’s diary).
On 17 April, Emma Darwin recorded in her diary: ‘I began to be bad.’ Charles Waring Darwin was born on 6 December 1856.
The Lubbock family residence, a short distance from Down House.


Congratulations on JL’s marriage. Invitation to dine at Down with the Hookers, Huxleys, and T. V. Wollaston.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 263: 2 (EH 88206448)
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1859,” accessed on 21 July 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 6