skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

DCP-LETT-7785

From E. M. Bonham-Carter to H. E. Darwin   [23 June 1871]1

days of you somehow. I am going to spend my Examn week July 3. to 8 at 6. Chandos St   if you are at Queen Anne perhaps we shall meet & go to F play.2

Please tell yr father I say Toss does put his ears back, when he grins & Ive written to Mr Riviere.3 I shd have gone to [W] if it had not been so horrid wet4   oh I’ve an idea you are going to the Festival tomorrow— what abt. Saturday?5 I am at home or tomorrow morning I cd go to you.

—Yr E.

CD annotations

1.1 days … play. 1.2] crossed pencil
2.2 I shd … you. 2.4] crossed pencil

Footnotes

1
The date is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from Briton Riviere to E. M. Bonham Carter, 26 June 1871, and by the dates of the Handel Festival (see n. 5, below).
2
Erasmus Alvey Darwin lived at 6 Queen Anne Street, just around the corner from Chandos Street. The reference to Bonham-Carter’s examination week has not been identified.
3
See letter from E. M. Bonham-Carter to Emma Darwin?, [2–5 June 1871], for Bonham-Carter’s earlier report on her dog Toss’s expression. For Riviere’s reply to Bonham-Carter, see the letter from Briton Riviere to E. M. Bonham Carter, 26 June 1871.
4
Bonham-Carter may refer to the dog show where Toss was being exhibited (see letter from E. M. Bonham-Carter to Emma Darwin?, [2–5 June 1871] and n. 4).
5
Bonham-Carter refers to the Handel Festival, which took place at the Crystal Palace on 20, 22, and 24 June 1871 (The Times, 24 June 1871, p. 5). In 1871, 24 June fell on a Friday.

Summary

Observations on expression of her dog for CD.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-7785
From
Bonham-Carter, E. M.
To
Darwin, H. E.
Sent from
unstated
Source of text
DAR 160: 242
Physical description
2pp inc †(by CD)

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7785,” accessed on 31 August 2016, http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/DCP-LETT-7785

letter