skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To T. Thompson1   9 October 1869

[Down]

To Mr T. Thompson, Secretary of the Westerham F. Club

Sir

Mr W. Reeves in this place has called on me as a County Magistrate to consult me on the best means of obtaining the payment which he states is due to him from the Westerham Club.—2

I can testify that the condition of his hand shows that he is unable work, & as he cannot at present write, he has asked me to address you on the subject,—before he takes any further steps.— His case seems a hard one, I am informed that some of your members still receive payment, & if this be correct it wd be difficult to justify, any one member who may have a just claim being refused.

Hoping that you will be able to satisfy W Reeves’ claim. I beg leave to remain | Sir | Your obed sert | Ch. R. Darwin Oct 9—1869

Footnotes

The addressee is probably Thomas Thompson, grocer, of Westerham (Post Office directory of the six home counties 1870); Westerham is about five miles from Down.
CD probably refers to William Reeves (b. 1834/5), but may refer to William Reeves (b. 1814/15). CD was a county magistrate for the Bromley division of Kent (Post Office directory of the six home counties 1870, p. 1004). CD had served as treasurer of the Down Friendly Club, a local savings and insurance society, since its establishment in 1850 (see Correspondence vol. 4, letter to J. S. Henslow, 17 January [1850] and n. 6).

Bibliography

Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 26 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Post Office directory of the six home counties: Post Office directory of the six home counties, viz., Essex, Herts, Kent, Middlesex, Surrey and Sussex. London: W. Kelly & Co. 1845–78.

Summary

Writes, as county magistrate, in an attempt to get payment from the Club for a Mr Reeves.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-6927
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
T. Thompson
Sent from
Down
Source of text
DAR 96: 60
Physical description
AdraftS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6927,” accessed on 14 November 2019, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-6927.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 17

letter