skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To W. B. Tegetmeier   2 July [1869]1

Caerdeon Barmouth | N. Wales

July 2d

My dear Sir

I received this morning your note in which you tell me that you have kindly procured for me the eggs of Pile Games, & I have written to Down to my servants to send to the Station at once & do the best with the eggs.—2

My health became so bad that I cd. do no work at home, so we have all come here where we shall remain all this month.3

You say that you have got a good many notes for me, & I thank you most sincerely for your kindness: will you be so good as to send them here?

I congratulate you about the Crested Turkey; it will be a wonderful feat if you recover the breed.4 I suppose both sexes are crested.

I am far from well today & will write no more, except once again to thank you for your kindness.—

Yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin

Footnotes

The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from W. B. Tegetmeier, 30 June 1869.
CD was holidaying at Caerdeon, Barmouth, Wales (see ‘Journal’ (Correspondence vol. 17, Appendix II)).
Tegetmeier’s information on the crested turkey was evidently in a now missing part of his letter of 30 June 1869. See letter from W. B. Tegetmeier, 20 July 1869. A crested turkey had been exhibited at the Zoological Gardens, London (see Correspondence vol. 16, letter from Edward Blyth, 3 August 1868).

Summary

Thanks for procuring eggs.

CD’s health has necessitated his leaving home.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-6811
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Sent from
Caerdeon
Source of text
Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Physical description
3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6811,” accessed on 21 July 2019, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-6811.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 17

letter